Scam
Scam

Users alerted to fake PayPal site scam

Fraudsters obtain valid SSL certificate to dupe users with fake e-wallet scheme

Written by James Middleton

US internet monitor Internet Storm Centre (ISC) has warned web users of a fake website capitalising on the PayPal e-wallet system.

The fake site uses a valid secure sockets layer (SSL) certificate to dupe visitors into believing they are accessing a bona fide secure site.

Advertisement

It then compounds the deception by using a CGI script to redirect the user to the actual PayPal login page.

The scam, which hopes to gain information that can be used for identity or credit card fraud, makes use of a well-known technique called URL masking which uses a username and password prefix in the address to fool the unwary.

HTTP URLs can include user name and passwords for http basic authentication, which are added to the URL in the following syntax: http://username:password@www.somewebsite.com/somepage.html.

And if no authentication is required by the site, the user name and password are ignored.

The ISC said the particular URL of this fake site is https://ki54ft.worldispnetwork.com/i.CgI, and that in the spam email promoting it, the URl appears as: https://www.paypal.com:ac=alksdjflakdjflkasdjruoiwehjrlkajdf@KI54fT. WoRlDiSpNeTwOrK.CoM/i.CgI?billing@yourdomain.com

Although the ISC receives almost daily reports of fake PayPal or eBay sites it warned that, because this site appeared to be secure, it appeared more plausible and genuine.

"In most cases, these scam sites are easily spotted as they are not using SSL. Sometimes they attempt to hide this fact by increasing the browser window size to push the lower part of the browser window off the screen, so users will not see the open browser lock," said the ISC.

"However, this latest site uses a valid SSL certificate for the host site. Unless users inspect the certificate in more detail, they will not see the problem."

The fake URL is overly long to hide the actual host name, which comes after the '@' symbol. The misleading text before this is a username and password which will be ignored.

The ISC said that the web page uses a wild card certificate for 'worldispnetwork.com'.

Tags:

Related articles

Related whitepapers

Related jobs

Do you agree?

IT white papers

Search vnunet IThound

Top categories

Job of the week

Search thousands of IT jobs :

Search thousands of IT jobs:

Advanced search

Hiring now on ComputingCareers:

Related IT jobs

Search thousands of IT jobs :

Search thousands of IT jobs:

Advanced search

Advertisement

Advertisement

Newsletter signup

Sign up for our range of FREE newsletters:

Existing User

Newsletter user login:

Enter email address to edit your newsletter preferences

Watch

Shaun Nichols

19 Dec 2008

2.93 MBPodcast Special: Views from the Valley More...

Podcast image

18 Dec 2008

17.6 MBComputing podcast - the highlights of 2008 More...

Shaun Nichols and Iain Thomson

15 Dec 2008

4.98 MBPodcast Special: Views from the Valley More...

Poll

Communications super-database

Communications super-database

Should the government be allowed to track our emails and internet use?

Previous poll results

Spotlight

CES logo

CES 2009 preview

vnunet.com looks at what is in store for delegates at...  More...

Lotus Notes

IBM unveils Lotus Notes 8.5

Collaboration suite beefs up Mac support and cuts email storage...  More...

Asus Eee Top

Review: Asus Eee Top ET1602 PC

A compact, touchscreen desktop PC best suited for basic computing...  More...

Moto W233 Renew

Motorola launches eco-friendly mobile phone

Moto W233 Renew handset is made out of recycled water...  More...

Primary Navigation